Kansas City Local Section

Spencer Award Winner 2017

The Event was Live Streamed....see the recording


Missouri Western State University 


Live Spencer Award 2017 Presentation


MWSU played host to the 2017 Kenneth A Spencer Award for outstanding achievement in Food and Agricultural Chemistry.

Dr. Bruce German was the 2017 Kenneth A Spencer Award recipient. The event was held September 21 along with a student poster session and invited symposium in honor of Dr. German's area of research.  Additionally, AGRO and AGFD Divisions of ACS cooperated to sponsor a symposium at the National ACS meeting in March 2018.  We will keep you posted as details may change.  Below is a link to Dr. German's biography.

Dr. Bruce German's info at UC Davis

 2017 Program


                Presenters for the Symposium included:

Linda Tikofsky, Professional Services Veterinarian, Boehringer Ingelheim:  1:30pm

Tona Melgarejo, Professor, Western University of Health Sciences:  2:00pm

Carolina Mateaus, Director Research & Development, DeLaval:  2:30pm

Break 3:00 - 3:15 

Bruce German, Spencer Award Winner, UC Davis:  3:15pm

Lance Phillips, President, Owl Software:  3:45pm

Wally Yokoyama, Healthy Processed Foods Research, ARS-USDA:  4:15pm


  The Symposium Presenters then held an Employment Forum

Including Emily McVey, Director, KC Animal Health Corridor 

Employment Panel: 5:00 - 5:45 

Social will be from 5:45 - 6:30

Buffet Dinner from 6:30 - 7:15 - Salad, Vegetables, Beef, Chicken and Salmon.

Featuring Shatto Milk Shots and Cheese Cake! 

Welcome and Introductions  7:15 - 7:30

Dr. German's Presentation 7:30 

 Here is a link to MWSU at 4525 Downs Drive, St. Joseph MO "Click Below"

 Map of MWSU Buildings and Parking